Editing Severity and Priority...

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

Post Reply
chairmaniac
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 23:42

Editing Severity and Priority...

Post by chairmaniac »

I'm using 1.0.1 version of Mantis (for political reasons I can't upgrade), and I’m having trouble editing certain of the global fields and I wondered if any of you had any thoughts on it. The intent behind this is to get mantis to match the ingrained bug reporting terminology where I work. To this end I’ve edited the core\constant_inc.php file with the following:

# priority
define( 'LOW', 10 );
define( 'MEDIUM', 20 );
define( 'HIGH', 30 );

# severity
define( 'A', 10 );
define( 'B', 20 );
define( 'C', 30 );
define( 'S', 40 );


I changed config_defaults_inc.php as follows:

$g_priority_enum_string = '10:low,20:medium,30:high';
$g_severity_enum_string = '10:A,20:B,30:C,40:S';


And I edited the strings_english.txt:

$s_priority_enum_string = '10:low,20:medium,30:high';
$s_severity_enum_string = '10:A,20:B,30:C,40:S';


Yet when I try and report a bug I get the following error message:


APPLICATION ERROR #203
A number was expected for severity.


My changes are all based on the Enumerations section of the manual. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?
chairmaniac
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 23:42

Post by chairmaniac »

Bump.
webwesen
Posts: 27
Joined: 09 Aug 2005, 20:44

Post by webwesen »

not that it will resolve the issue you have, but you should change default values in your own custom files:

so ./core/constant_inc.php changes belong to ./custom_constant_inc.php
and config_defaults_inc.php -> config_inc.php
chairmaniac
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 23:42

Post by chairmaniac »

Putting them in custom files would still leave in unwanted values wouldn't it? We don't want any more than the 3 priority and 4 severity values. Meh. Couldn't hurt to try it anyway.
chairmaniac
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 23:42

Post by chairmaniac »

Bump.
Narcissus
Developer
Posts: 338
Joined: 17 Feb 2005, 09:45

Post by Narcissus »

There is a post on futureware.biz about customising these sorts of things. I can't find the link at the moment but the post there will tell you exactly what needs doing.
chairmaniac
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jul 2006, 23:42

Post by chairmaniac »

Well, I didn't find a post about this particular question, but I did find a post that specifically addressed another problem I was having. Thanks!
Agron Fazliu
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Aug 2006, 14:37
Location: Kosova

Post by Agron Fazliu »

Hi,

In config_defaults_inc, you should change the following to:

# Default bug severity when reporting a new bug
$g_default_bug_severity = B ;


Regards,
Agron Fazliu
atomoid
Posts: 108
Joined: 18 Aug 2005, 00:46
Location: santa cruz, ca

Post by atomoid »

it might not be what you want...
but we just did the quick and dirty route, changed the words in the language files, so it merely displays a different string so only the preceptual cue changes and all the underlying logic remains the same. if you have multiple language users youll have to change multiple language files.
Post Reply